Wednesday Poetry Prompts: 197 | WritersDigest.com

A while back I posted a link to an essay about the question “Where do you get your ideas?”

Today’s prompt on Robert Lee Brewer’s poetry blog was to write a poem in answer to a question. Here’s mine, followed by a link to Brewer’s blog. He has a new prompt each week.

Ideas

They come
unbidden,
pouring through
cracks in consciousness,
spilling into quiet
afternoons.
breaking down
dams of resolve,
dripping like
springs
down mossy
corners at the back
of my mind.
They wet
my hair and leave
me shivering
in the middle
of the night.
No towel
can absorb
their insistence
until I sit down
and let them
flow into
form.
Where do
I get them?
I wish
I knew.

 

Wednesday Poetry Prompts: 197 | WritersDigest.com.

3 thoughts on “Wednesday Poetry Prompts: 197 | WritersDigest.com

  1. lovely! I especially like this topic as I am trying to find sources of writing motivation these days…I may have to include this in my blog as one of them!

Leave a Reply

