Writers First Aid » Set Goals NOW for 2013 » Writers First Aid

Kristi Holl is, as usual, right on top of things. Today, she suggests that we start to think about our goals for 2013. Right now, uh-hem, I’m having trouble keeping up with my goals for today, but that’s another thing.

My unofficial writing goals for 2013 are to find an agent for my novels, chapter books, and picture books, to sell at least one of them, and to finish reworking five manuscripts that are almost “there” into a new middle grade mystery series.

In the near term, I plan to finish my years-in-the-making fantasy novel by the end of this month.

Next month, I plan to form two of my Picture Book Idea Month ideas into finished manuscripts and send them out. I also plan to craft a query letter to one of the agents I met at conferences this year and run it by my critique group. I will, for a change, record all of my submissions on Query Tracker. I don’t usually do that. It is too depressing. This time, it won’t be. I also plan to edit and submit my poetry chapbook to Robert Brewer’s challenge. That sounds like a lot of work, but it won’t take very long.

What may take some time is updating my resume and submitting  samples to educational publishers. I will do that next month too.

If you want to start thinking about your writing goals, click on the link below to read Kristi’s blog post.

Writers First Aid » Set Goals NOW for 2013 » Writers First Aid.

Leave a Reply

